EYFS Framework & Birth to 5 Matters

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 2023 sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The EYFS seeks to provide:
• Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind
• A secure foundation through planning for the learning and development of each individual child, and assessing and reviewing what they have learned regularly
• Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers
• Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every
child is included and supported

The EYFS specifies requirements for learning and development and for safeguarding children and promoting their welfare.

The learning and development requirements cover:
• The areas of learning and development which must shape activities and experiences (educational programmes) for children in all early years settings
• The early learning goals that providers must help children work towards (the knowledge, skills and understanding children should have at the end of the academic year in which they turn five)
• Assessment arrangements for measuring progress (and requirements for reporting to parents and/or carers)


Four guiding principles should shape practice in early years settings.

These are:
• Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
• Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
• Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers,

• Importance of learning and development. Children learn at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in the early years, including children with special educational needs (SEND).


More Information for Parents and Carers

This guide is for parents and carers of children from birth to five years old. It will help you find out more about your child's learning and development in the EYFS.


At Crigglestone and The Castle Nursery Schools we use Birth to Five Matters to support us to fulfil the requirements of the EYFS. It clearly sets out the EYFS areas of learning and development and educational programmes, and how to help children make progress towards the Early Learning Goals (ELGs).


EYFS Statutory Framework (September 2023)


Setting the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five.